NOTE: NEO STC will not be holding competitions in 2016-17. Check the STC International website to find other chapters that are holding local competitions.

When you submit an entry in the competition, you receive detailed evaluation and feedback from your peers and recognition for your work. In addition, submissions that receive Distinguished Technical Communication or Excellence awards are eligible to be entered in the international competition, where your submission will receive additional evaluation.

When you volunteer to judge in the competition, you get the opportunity to contribute to the evolving definition of quality for technical communication. You can also share your expertise, see the best examples of our craft, and make new contacts in the field.

The competition is divided into four distinct categories:

  • Informational Materials
  • Instructional Materials
  • Promotional Materials
  • User Support Materials

There are three award levels:

  • Distinguished Technical Communication
  • Excellence
  • Merit

Full competition rules are available on the STC International website. See General Information and Competition Rules on their Competitions page for details.